Pin on Pinterest

ARLINGTON - Seventeen students at The Oakridge School are among the nation’s newest members of Mu Alpha Theta, the national high school and two-year college mathematics honor society. The 2021-2022 inductees are:

Sophia Anderson, 10
Jessica Batrice, 10
Julie Batrice, 10
Jai Bhakta, 10
Tyler Hall, 10
Landon Hodges, 10
Bryce Key, 10
Joy Lewis, 10
Sophia Mirzaei, 10
Prapti Patel, 10
Cole Acker, 11
Zainab Ellahi, 11
Vikram Kollipara, 11
Chloe Polit, 11
Lauren Scott, 11
Adison Trowbridge, 11
Safia Yunus, 11

The Oakridge chapter launched during the 2019-2020 school year. Charter member and Class of 2022 senior, Grant Miranda, serves as president. Upper School Math Teacher, Mrs. Melanie Hartsell, is the Mu Alpha Theta sponsor.

“It is an honor to be selected for membership into this organization, which has over 21-hundred chapters across the United States and in foreign countries,” said Mrs. Hartsell, while speaking to students and their family members during the Dec. 8 ceremony at the Fine Arts Performance Hall. “Each of you meets the requirements for membership, including distinguished work in college preparatory mathematics.” Watch a video clip here as Mrs. Hartsell announces the new members.

Qualifications for high school chapter membership, in general, require a student to maintain at least a 3.0 math grade point average (GPA), and they must have completed two years of college preparatory mathematics (including Algebra and/or Geometry). The students also must have completed or be enrolled in a third year of college preparatory mathematics. The majority of Oakridge's new members all have GPA's well above the minimum required.

Congratulations to all of the students, including Mu Alpha Theta officers:

Vice President and founding member - Yumna Zaidi, 12
Secretary and founding member - Mia Petersen, 12
Communications Director – Taylor Handy, 12
Co-Treasurer - Eshan Singhal, 11
Co-Treasurer – Catherine Wang, 11

Founded in 1957 at the University of Oklahoma, Mu Alpha Theta serves more than 100,000 student members in more than 2,420 schools in the United States and 23 foreign countries. The organization is committed to the promotion of scholarships in mathematics while establishing math as an integral part of high school and two-year college education programs.

Established in 1979, The Oakridge School is an independent, co-educational, college preparatory, day school for students age 3 through grade 12. The school draws a diverse student body from 22 area cities and 8 countries to a dynamic learning environment on a 100-acre campus in Arlington. The Oakridge School mission is to inspire students to seek their full potential in academics, the arts, and athletics in a challenging and nurturing environment that cultivates social responsibility, mutual respect, and personal integrity. To learn more about The Oakridge School, visit